What Bread…

Jesus took the Bread…

What Bread?

The Unleavened Bread of the Passover, and this Bread has very specific instructions, ideas, and connections.

God said specifically Deut 16:3 Thou shalt eat no leavened bread with it; seven days shalt thou eat unleavened bread therewith, even the bread of affliction; for thou camest forth out of the land of Egypt in haste: that thou mayest remember the day when thou camest forth out of the land of Egypt all the days of thy life. (KJV)

In a post from 2012 I shared my research into the original Hebrew meaning for Bread. There are 2 specific realities attached to the word Bread…

  • Sustenance, eating, chewing
  • Puffing up, fighting and war (punching down a yeasty dough; all part of the same thought in Ancient Hebrew)

Sustenance was easy but war; that required a bit more understanding.

I have come to know the Bread that Jesus initially took (before He broke or Blessed it) as…

The bread Affliction…

my human arrogance (puffing myself up), my thinking and choosing against God, my choice is also my sin, the wages of sin are death, the curse comes because of sin.

So as I take Communion I see Jesus at the Table literally taking the Bread of My Affliction.

Communion is very personal and gets richer and more satisfying as our understanding grows through Revelation from the Holy Spirit.

Shine On!     Laurie

2 thoughts on “What Bread…

Leave a Reply

